bou

Wednesday, 17 February 2016

ARC Review: Firstlife by Gena Showalter

Firstlife (Everlife #1)
Behind 480 Pages
Released: 1 March 2016
Genre: Romance, Fantasy
Publisher: Harlequin Australia
Pre-Order: Amazon  |  Angus and Robertson Bookworld  |  Booktopia  |  Book Depository  |  Fishpond
At the Other End:
Step one...you die.

ONE CHOICE.
TWO REALMS.
NO SECOND CHANCE.

Tenley "Ten" Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live — after she dies. There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.

In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, long-time enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms that will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she's drawn to isn't where the boy she's falling for lives? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…



Gena Showalter has always believed in love. An avid romance reader, she decided to try her hand at a story of her own and is now the author of sexy paranormal romances, including The Stone Prince, The Pleasure Slave and Heart of the Dragon. She is also the author of Awaken Me Darkly, the first in the darkly seductive Alien Huntress series. Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and Karen Marie Moning will find a new favorite in Showalter. Her wildly sensual page-turners have mix of humor, danger and wickedly hot sex, a combination sure to enthrall.

Find Gena:

Website  |  Twitter  |  Facebook
________________________________________________________________________
Completely unique and thrilling from front to back. I was utterly captivated by everything in this book, the plot, the characters, the romance. This is a must read, I can’t wait to see where the series leads after such a fantastic series starter.


I was really really excited to read this book, but I don’t think I was expecting for something that completely blew me away. As soon as I started reading, I couldn’t stop, and even when I had to put the book down, as soon as I picked it back up again it was like I never stopped reading. I could easily re-immerse myself in this world and the story, and I’ve got a feeling that even if I didn’t have time to pick up this book again for a week, I still would have felt like I never left. Even once I finished the book, all I could do was just sit there in disbelief that it was finished. It felt like I was only reading for an hour or so, it didn’t feel like I had read the entire book. Don’t get me wrong, so much happened that there wasn’t a moment when nothing was happening, but it felt like it went so quickly. I’m still sitting here wondering where the rest of my book went because I NEED more. NOW.

There was nothing that I didn’t like about this book. Ok, I have one thing but it’s a spoiler, and not exactly something I didn’t like (I so wanted Archer and Ten to be together! I do love Killian, but I clicked with Archer so much more from the very beginning). Just letting you all know that there is NO love triangle. I kinda got that impression from the blurb, so I was a little hesitant going into it because of that, but rest assured, there is NO LOVE TRIANGLE!! Sure, she does love both Archer and Killian, but you know when you read the book which one she loves in a romantic way and in a best friend/brother way. No matter which guy I swung for, I didn’t get upset if he did or didn’t get with Ten, because every character was done so well that it was hard to dislike one that much because he did or didn’t get romantically involved with Ten. Sorry, that may be a bit confusing, but it makes sense to me and hopefully it makes sense once you all read this book, which I STRONGLY SUGGEST YOU DO.

I absolutely loved Ten, she was such a strong female character, and even though being in that asylum made her a bit crazy, it suited her and made her all the more complex and daring to do what needed to be done. She was fierce, witty and clear minded, but also angry and hurt from everything that has happened to her as well as frustrated because she won’t be left alone by both orders wanting to recruit her. I believe she made the right choice with everything in the end, and I was on the edge of my seat for the entire time. 

I loved the plot, it was absolutely amazing, and every minute of this book was exciting. I had no idea what was going to happen, so I was kept on edge the entire time. The overall story was completely original, and that made me love this book a whole lot more. I loved learning about the worlds, and the secrets they held. I loved seeing all the differences and the lengths that people will go to for what they think is right and for their own personal gain. 

This book is marvellous and will grab the attention of every reader. I cannot urge you all to read this book enough, you will not regret it, plus, just look at that cover!! Once you read the book you see the cover in such a different light, you see all these details that you’ll only notice after you’ve read the book. It’s brilliant, and I’ve only ever seen that kind of cover on one other series, the Wildwood Dancing series by Juliet Marillier. I admit, there is more detail on that set of covers than this one, but it’s still all the same. Every time you look at the cover, you see something new and it makes you want to read this book all over again.



This novel was received for review via Harlequin Australia. This review is entirely my own, no bribery or any deals have been made to sway this review or change my personal opinion of the novel.

3 comments:

  1. I have been intrigued by this book since I first heard about it. I just loved the cover, it draws you right in. What a great review. I was thinking when I read this one I might really like it, but I think after your review I think I'll love it. I will need to bump it up the to-read list, which is really crazy right now. Thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm a huge huge fan of Gena Showalter. She's my spirit animal and I have a project going on from my site that's basically me attempting to read all the books that she's ever published. I picked this one up as well... but then put it down after 50 pages. I KNOW I KNOW OMGGG OMGGG IM TERRIBLE. I'm so used to Gena's writing. I've read 15 (give or take) of her books now and you would think that I would be able to read this from front to back without a care. Something about this one made me just want to put it down. Maybe it was the fact that Ten was so obsessed with Killian in the first few pages where she met him. It drove me insane and I would much rather read some of her other well-written novels. It sounded tooo much like her Alice in Zombieland characters and the voice sounded exactly the same. I'm hoping I'll have the courage to pick back up the book but I"m just afraid if I read it through and don't like it, I'm going to give it a bad review :( Great review and I'm so glad you loved it!

    Alex @ The Book's Buzz

    ReplyDelete
  3. I loved your review! I too was a little unsure about reading it because of the love triangle! I am going to post a review soon on my own blog so check it out some time!
    http://larkandlily.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for leaving a comment, I love hearing what you have to say and talking to you all!